Helping Hooves 559 members · 844 stories
Comments ( 4 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 4

So I am quite new to mlp fan works, and honestly the show itself. After catching up with the series I decided to try my hand at fanfiction for it, but it's been... ill received so far if the downvotes are anything to go by. I was hoping that someone might help explain why that is, that way I can make it betterIt the future.

http://www.fimfiction.net/story/214937/the-guardian-of-darkness

3619979 It might not be the story itself, I think the reason for the downvotes was because most people don't like the whole black Alicorn thing. Back in the early days of the fandom, Alicorns were made by everyone and they were usually black in color with some designs that were red. Over time people got annoyed by them and hated them. For your story, I don't think anyone really hates it, but they don't like the black Alicorn thing.

I read it and like it though.

OCs are hard enough to make good, alicorns are even worse and will probably get your story thumbed down just for mentioning an OC alicorn especially one that's some generic color like black or red.

Comment posted by Lordxana0 deleted Sep 11th, 2014

3619979 I'm going with what everyone else has said so far. 3620018 3620804

Also, a few things.

This sounds like the narrator is introducing a play. Not that it's a bad thing, but straight up telling us what's going on instead of showing us what is going on is kind of...

...boring to read.

Not only that, but you need to go through this and just hit it a bit.

kept safE by his birth from the disease.

Errors like that...

Plus, the factions aren't capitalized. They're just earth ponies, pegasi* (plural for a pegasus), and unicorns.

In addition to those errors, you don't use proper English grammar in the sense of quotes.

You use the dialogue tags, but not the quotes?

Quotes are what makes the world go around, not burn to the ground.