Starry Eyed Reviews 69 members · 82 stories
Comments ( 1 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 1
Fallen Angel N
Group Admin

The story up next is "Fallout Equestria: Reminders" by Vaatidj. https://www.fimfiction.net/story/329072/fallout-equestria-reminders

I don't really have any experience with Fallout Equestria. I know about My Little Pony, and I am VERY aware of the Fallout franchise #NewVegasBetterThan4#. :ajsmug: That being said, this is my first time working on those two put together, so here goes. This story was pretty good for my first MLP/Fallout crossover. That being said, there were a few things that stopped me from having the perfect experience with this story. Like always, I don't read ALL of the story, but a good enough amount to judge it.

Okay, so the beginning starts us off with Dead Hooves who gives us an introduction to herself. This is in my opinion where the problem starts and continues as she addresses us.

Sorry, guess I forgot to introduce myself. The names Dead Hooves, and yes, that is my real name.

You have to be careful when addressing the audience. :unsuresweetie: Doing things like this can work to break immersion that the reader had with the story. A good story makes the reader forget it's just a story in the first place. You then proceed to pretty much give the readers an info dump. This is pretty much when loads of information is haphazardly given to the readers with little to no actual prompting from anyone or anything. The MC who addressed the audience, is now just giving us her life story...all at once. You should work to be more subtle on these things. Perhaps slowly give the details through points or interactions, but not all at once.

Next point, I really think you should work on your timing of events more. Some of the things that happen, seem to happen so close together that they can be called weird coincidences that annoyingly stand out.