The Originals 50 members · 88 stories
Comments ( 9 )
  • Viewing 1 - 50 of 9
SwordTune
Group Admin

Yea, this is it. Introduce yourself, promote your egotistical self, tell us something you like. How about your favorite drink. Scotch? Vodka? Dances with Wenches (I still can't believe that's a drink name). I, of course, do not touch alcohol. I'm just like this naturally...

Greetings, one and all. I am a Johnny-come-lately mystery writer who got back into the MLP fandom after an absence of some 5 - 6 years of writing other things. My one previous story (search "Slander" in the EQD archives) was forged in those heady days post-Season 1 where we knew but little about any of the background characters, and even Princess Luna, when alicorns were goddesses and Equestria seemed more vast with possibility than it does now. I always like to write fanfiction, when I do, to explore just what is possible to do with a world, rather than exploring existing characters.

Thus, when I returned to the fandom and had a writing bug in my ear, I realized that I would have to go a bit farther afield than before to follow my own rules. The world of MLP had grown much more defined in the intervening years, and not always in ways that were conducive to creativity. My novel, The Unicorn and the Crow, is in no small part an effort to recapture those early days of boundless possibility.

The pony races of Equestria remain an endless source of fascination and a powerful storytelling device, even to this day. I intend to keep working with them as long as this fandom endures.

As for drinks? I usually write with a nice glass of Calvados or good Virginia whiskey if I'm sipping from my decanter (oh, sweet, delicious Chardonnay-cask Scotch... how do I love thee? Let me count the ways...), or if I open a bottle of wine, usually a Vouvray or Bordeaux, and I stop when the pink ponies start parading around the corners of my vision.

-Foxmane